Week 3 Progress!

I am so thankful for Best Body Bootcamp!  I have made so much progress in the first 3 weeks and I know I will keep getting mentally and physically stronger as the weeks roll on.  I decided to weigh myself today.  After weighing last Friday and seeing absolutely NO progress, I saw that I am down 7 lbs from when I started this almost 3 weeks ago!  I’m not as bloated as last week, so I’m sure that helps!  =)

I’ve been having non-scale victories this week too.  Tomorrow is my birthday and today I went out with a friend for lunch and ended up being pretty full afterwards.  But, not only did I eat only 1/2 of my lunch, but I realized that when I go out for dinner with Hubby and friends tomorrow night, I really don’t want to over eat.  It  DOES NOT appeal to me.  At all.  So, tomorrow will be a challenge for me, but I’m looking forward to that challenge to prove to myself that I’m okay without gorging myself!  I’ll face the temptation of popcorn and candy at the theater when the girls go to see The Hunger Games and then we’re going to Carlos O’Kellys, so there will be chips and salsa and yummy TexMex!!!  With lots of cheese sauce!!  But as tasty as all those things are, I really don’t want to feel bloated and stuffed.  So, we’ll see how I do.

I can fit into jeans that I haven’t been able to wear in about 6 months!  Granted, they’re a little tight, but not obscene.

I updated my weight progress on My Fit Pal today.  It has a feature that when you complete your food/exercise log for the day, it will say, if you ate like this everyday, in 5 weeks you’d weigh…  And today it said a number in the 178!  Oh, it will be good to see those numbers again.  Not that getting healthy and losing weight is all about the number on the scale.  I actually will be selling my scale on a garage sale in a month or so.  But it was nice to see some number progress.  (I’m an accountant – I like numbers!)

On a side note, I subscribe to Christi Inge’s blog and I loved her post about How Not to Feel Deprived.  It really rang true to me.  You should read the post (and everything she writes!  She’s got amazing insight!)  Here’s my favorite part:

Say you eat {insert random food here}.

Then, you feel like shit – physically speaking. Maybe you feel sleepy, or get heartburn, or can’t shit for days. Or, maybe you can’t stop shitting for days. Maybe you break out in a rash. Maybe your blood sugar is all over the map. Maybe your joints and muscles hurt like a son-of-a-bitch.

Yep, that sounds like deprivation alright.

Deprivation of health, vitality, energy. A well body. A healthy body. A body that hums with delight.

A body that functions properly.

Stop telling yourself you are eating {insert random food here} because you will feel deprived if you don’t.

That is a lie.

You get to choose how you think about what you are putting in your body. Feeling deprived is a choice.

So, back to all my birthday celebrations tomorrow:  I need to remember what deprivation really is!

Leave a Reply

